Skip to main content

Whitin Community Center Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony

WHITINSVILLE – The Whitin Community Center’s annual meeting was held on Monday, February 25, 2019, at the WCC. The evening began with a beautiful spread of hors d’oeuvres and desserts by Whittier Farms that were enjoyed by the Board Members, Trustees, Corporators, Award Recipients, WCC Staff and Administration who gathered to reflect on the past year’s accomplishments.    

At the event, the organization was addressed with a welcoming introduction by our Chairman Of The Board, James W. Corcoran. We thanked our outgoing Corporators, Walter Convent and Cathy Stickney, Ed.D. for their years of service and support to our organization. In addition, we welcomed new Trustee, Charles Thompson, and 8 new Corporators: Senator Ryan Fattman, Chris Foley, Bill & Patty Giannopolous, Adam Gaudette, Senator Michael Moore, Representative David Muradian and Alison Specter. Heather Elster, our Executive Director, presented her annual review of the past year’s accomplishments and the exciting new initiatives and projects planned for the upcoming year.

One of the highlights of the event each year is the presentation of the awards. The Whitin Community Center wishes to congratulate the following award winners:  Our High Five Employee of the Year Award recognizes an employee who went “above and beyond” over the past year and made a difference through teamwork, excellence, dedication, safety, and respect.  This year we honored Mark Fremeau, an individual who exceeded these expectations. Our Denis LaTour Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes an individual whose exceptional volunteer effort has supported and advanced the mission of the Whitin Community Center.  With this award, the Whitin Community Center recognizes an individual in our community that supports our efforts as a non-profit organization through contributions as a volunteer.  This year’s award was presented to Gary Sacon. The Charles E. Thompson Youth Volunteer Award recognizes an individual under the age of 18 who has selflessly and enthusiastically volunteered time, effort and energy to advance the mission of the Whitin Community Center.  With this award, the WCC acknowledges a young person who truly does represent our future.  This year’s award was presented to Isaac Curley. The Daniel J. Salmon Outreach Award recognizes an individual who has selflessly given of their time, energy and resources to help the Whitin Community Center's Youth Outreach program successfully empower youth through experiential education and recreation.  This year’s award was presented to Trevor Robertson. Finally, the George Marston Whitin Community Award recognizes an individual from the Blackstone Valley who personifies George M. Whitin’s commitment to service to the community.  Through its mission, the Center continues to honor the memory of George Marston Whitin (1856-1920), whose vision of community life, family values, and citizenship have guided the organization’s services and programming to residents of the Blackstone Valley since 1922.  This year's award was presented to Joanne Khoury. Thank you to all the award winners for your service to our community.

The Whitin Community Center is committed to enhancing the health and well-being of individuals and families and building a strong community in the Blackstone Valley.  We offer social, recreational, educational, and outreach programs that bring community members of all ages and backgrounds together. The Whitin Community Center is the Blackstone Valley’s most complete family and recreation center with two swimming pools, a gym, fitness center, early learning programs, summer camps and a seven and a half acre park.  For more information call 508.234.8184 or visit www.Whitin Community